5 Things To Be Thankful For

Image

Today is Thanksgiving Eve, and as we get near to the time of the year where we share with others (or other friends and family members ask us) “What We Want…”; I think I would like to share my top 5 things I am thankful for.  In No Particular Order:

Number 5

Life Growth – God has created us with multiple aspect to out life.  We have spiritual, emotional, relational, physical, intellectual and vocational aspects to our make-up.  And what’s more, God expects us to grow-up in each of those areas.  It’s taken me 40 years to finally figure out that all aspects need to be growing.  Life growth isn’t always fun but the benefits of the growth is what I am becoming thankful for.

Luke 2:52 (CEV)
Jesus became wise, and he grew strong. God was pleased with him and so were the people.

Number 4

Friends – I have a few great friends in my life that I am trutly thankful for.  Not only do we have common ground but we also look out for each other.  My friends have helped me to stay accountable and have pushed me to become the best I can be.  I hope I am doing the same for them.  True friendship, like Life Growth, is hard work; but the rewards of friendship are worth it.  Loneliness Sucks!

Proverbs 17:17 (ESV)
A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.

Number 3

Family – I am so thankful for my family, I believe I love them more each day and they bring new joys to my life each day.  I am so thankful for my wife – she has been patient with me in my struggles and a huge encouragement to me not only in ministry but also in my everyday life.  What’s more, we are doing more ministry together.  I am thankful for my three children that I get to see everyday as they grow-up and mature.  Each has had the opportunity to grow-up not only physically this year but also in their character.

1 Timothy 3:5 (TEV)
For if a man does not know how to manage his own family, how can he take care of the church of God?

Number 2

Problems – Thankful for problems?!?! Really?!?!?!  Well, not at the time, but as I look back at the problems I have had this past year I have to say I am a stronger person because of the problems that have come my way.  I think I will have to devote an entire blog post to the problems of 2013.

James 1:2-4 (ESV)
Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

Number 1

New Focus – About 3 months ago, I believe God placed upon my heart a new focus.  I have been extremely motivated these past few months and I believe that the motivation is being directed to things that really matter in life.  I have launched this blog “The Real Life” for the purpose of helping to motivate others to live a life that matters; a life that glorifies God in all aspects of our life (physical, intellectual, relational, vocational and spiritual).  I DON”T HAVE ALL THE ANSWERS and I DON”T HAVE IT ALL FIGURED OUT – I fail everyday!  However, I do know who has the answers and HE (God) continues to grow me and I commit to pass that truth on.

Colossians 3:23 (TEV)
Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as though you were working for the Lord and not for people.

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog today.  What are the 5 things you are thankful for this year?

Leave a Reply

